Greg PakAboutComicsBooksFilmsStoreNewsletter Twitter Mastodon Instagram YouTube RSS
Princess Who Saved Herself | Mech Cadet Yu | Hulk | Code Monkey Save World | Please consider donating to writer Bill Mantlo's ongoing care!

Monthly Archives: December 2007

Newsarama digs “World War Hulk: Aftersmash”

The money quote:

Overall, this is a thoughtful and well-rendered coda to the main tale. It’s a rare follow-up that merits a read and still articulates a few points about the larger themes of the cost of anger.

Click here for the full review.

WizardUniverse.com likes “World War Hulk: Aftersmash”

WizardUniverse.com speaks kindly of “World War Hulk: Aftersmash,” written by Greg Pak with pencils by Rafa Sandoval. An excerpt:

What could have been a throwaway one-shot turns into an engaging character study in heroism, as the various superhero factions—everyone from Luke Cage to Spider-Man to Thing to Misty Knight to Hercules to a new Goliath—must decide what their roles will be in this new post-war Marvel Universe. It’s all wrapped up in a frenetic plot that keeps the story moving, while Sandoval’s pencils pack more than a Hulk-sized wallop.

Click here to read the full review.

Fanboy Video posts interview with Greg Pak

The fine folks at Fanboy Video interviewed “World War Hulk” writer Greg Pak at the recent Wizardworld Texas comic book convention. Make with the clicking to find out what comes next with all things Hulk.

ComicPants.com digs “World War Hulk: Aftersmash”

David Martindale of ComicPants.com really likes “World War Hulk: Aftersmash,” written by Greg Pak with pencils by Rafa Sandoval. Here’s an excerpt from the review:

Pak continues to fire on all cylinders, getting solid to very strong action, character, and plot into the book. Sandoval’s pencils aren’t flashy, but they are very solid with well above average storytelling ability. This is a must for fans of Planet Hulk and World War Hulk.

Click here to read the full review.

Comixtreme digs “World War Hulk: Aftermath”

Comixtreme.com gives the “World War Hulk: Aftermath” one-shot a great review. An excerpt:

… the execution is wonderful. Pak draws us right into the characters and makes us care about what’s happening to them, and anxious to see what will happen to them next. The art team is just as solid as the writing. Overall, this is a story that ties up a few loose ends and leaves a good starting point for future projects.

Click here to read the full review.
“World War Hulk: Aftermath” #1, written by Greg Pak with pencils by Rafa Sandoval, hits comic book stores on December 5.

2007.12.06 – Bill Mantlo “Spacenight” benefit in Portland, OR

“Spacenight: A Tribute to Bill Mantlo” is a benefit event for the storied Marvel writer that takes place at Floating World Comics from 6-10 pm at 20 NW 5th Avenue #101 in Portland, Oregon, on December 6. Organizer Jason Leivian will display (and sell!) over a hundred original images of Mantlo’s classic sci fi hero Rom drawn by artists from around the world.
Click here to feast your eyes upon the picture contributed by comics writer Greg Pak and colorist Christina Strain.
Click here for more info about the event from the Floating World website.
Click here to read Pak’s interview with Leivian at BrokenFrontier.com.

2007.12.05 – “World War Hulk: Aftersmash” #1

“World War Hulk: Aftersmash” #1 hits comic book stores this Wednesday. Written by Greg Pak with pencils by Rafa Sandoval, the book follows an unlikely group of heroes as they struggle to survive in the wake of “World War Hulk.”
Click here for a six page preview from the book.

Submit your questions to “Pak Talks Comics”

Got a question for comic book writer Greg Pak? Now you have a chance to get it answered by the man himself in “Pak Talks Comics,” Pak’s ongoing column for BrokenFrontier.com.
Click here to use the handy online form to submit your questions.
Click here to read the latest column, an interview with Rom fan and Bill Mantlo benefit organizer Jason Leivian.

The Malaysian Star digs “World War Hulk” #5

An excerpt:

… my two cents worth is that not since Walt Simonson’s presentation of Thor’s final battle with Fin Fang Foom (Thor # 380) has there been a more worthy use of sound effects such as “KWAGLOOOOOM!” alongside “VJJJWOMMMWWWB!” and “SPAKOOOOM!”.

Click here to read the full review.

© 1999-2015 Pak Man Productions. All rights reserved.